Animating?

You know that saying that goes like, ‘If you dream it, you can do it’ or something along those lines?  Well, one of my problems is that I spend way to much time dreaming it, and not actually investing my time in doing it.

For instance: I think that learning how to program a robot would be super cool, but instead of learning about robots so that I can grow up and get a career in building robots, all I want to do is lay around and daydream about my idea for a robot.

Another problem is that I have a lot of things that I’d like to do.  There’s the robot thing–but I also want to be a voice actor, an author, an artist, and to work with horses/at an animal shelter.  Because I love to draw, write/read, robots/computers, and animals of about any kind, I just want to do all of this stuff.

Truthfully, I could do more than one thing, and I hope to grow up and do at least two of those things that are listed above.

But there’s something that I’ve become very interested in lately.  I guess it’s kind of unusual, but I do like to write scripts (or just writing stories in general) and to draw.

Animating.  I really, really, really, want to learn how to animate.  I want to take the ideas that I have in my head, or the ideas that I already have written down into a story, and turn them into animations for others (and myself) to enjoy.

I’m not sure why, but the idea of my stories being put into the form of a cartoon gets me so excited, that I’ve managed to snap out of my little daydream about it, (or at least partly) and actually start researching it.

So I got word from someone on DeviantART that you can make animations with Photoshop, and that there is a thirty-day free trial for Photoshop.  I’ve actually heard from more than one place that you can animate with Photoshop, and I’ve even watched some of the animations that people have made with it.

So today I looked up ‘Photoshop’ and found a website for it.  But guess what?  The website is so ridiculously confusing!  But I am so close to being able to do it, that I’m too excited to stop now.  So does anybody know how to download the free trial for the animation program to Photoshop?  Or do you know a better program for animating?

I’m not looking for three-dimensional animations, I’m looking for how to animate cartoons.

Thanks for reading–I really want to know.

O_O

4 responses to “Animating?

  1. Jack, you can do this pretty easily with Paint.Net, a totally free image software program, combined with Windows Movie Maker. Paint.net is the program I use for my book covers. It does have a tutorial section that I’ve used a few times, but it was pretty easy to figure out the program just by using it. Get it here:
    http://www.getpaint.net/download.html#download

    And this YouTube tutorial will show you how to animate your creations with Movie Maker: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqOC6qX3ALw

  2. I don’t know a thing about animating! 🙂 But I really like hearing about all the things you are interested in. We are in Tennessee today and the hotel that we are staying at has llamas. You would probably love seeing them.

Leave a Reply

