Halloween, and No NaNo’

As Halloween drew closer and closer this year, I became more reluctant to dress up and go trick-or-treating. I’ve always loved dressing up as a character or animal and getting candy, but even when I was younger I was always nervous about walking up to a stranger’s house and asking for candy. And as each year passes, I’ve grown less and less excited about holidays. I don’t start planning my birthday three months beforehand, for one.

So, this year I kept saying that ‘I wasn’t going to go trick-or-treating, because I don’t want to’. Of course, I did end up going. πŸ˜› There were two big reasons as to why I didn’t want to go.

1. We have no costumes. We haven’t had costumes for awhile.

2. Now that I’m older, I feel like I’m that creepy teenager who’s still trying to act like a kid. I do not want to be that. Also teenagers are just kind of looked at in a very: “What are you doing?” way. I understand why, but it’s annoying when someone doesn’t seem to trust me just because of my age.

But then, DUNDUNDUNNN, I got a costume. I was… Drum-roll please… The one, the only, the dorky…

Napoleon Dynamite. And while at a Halloween party, somebody from church was Kip.

Happy Halloween!

 

Aaand on to NaNoWriMo. This would be my fourth year participating in NaNo’, but this year I haven’t been nearly as excited for the yearly writing exercise. It actually struck November 1st and I didn’t realize until much later in the day. I’m already working on a comic, plotting it out, designing characters, back stories, etc. And finally, after about four years of writing, I’m really trying to work persistently on a story. Instead of my usual routine. Getting excited over it, and then coming up with a new idea and ditching the previous project that I made such a big deal out of. And it’s about time too! This is the story that I’m actually planning beforehand, and what’s more–it’s a graphic novel. So both my love for writing and drawing will clash. πŸ˜€

 

That’s all for now. πŸ˜‰

4 responses to “Halloween, and No NaNo’

  1. Yeah, I think that’s smart to focus on one project at a time. I’ve certainly had a lot of experience not doing that πŸ™‚ I did Nanowrimo last year, but couldn’t do it this year, either. I’ve got to save my writing energy for some of the projects I’m working on that really count.

Leave a Reply

