This and That, But Mostly About a Writers’ Guild

I’ll start with the lesser stuff, and lead up to the finale.

A lot of small things are going on. Not exciting enough to devote a post to, but stuff like art projects–both personal and collaborative–and youth group. It’s the one day a week I get to spend with other kids my age, even if the loud music and Middleschoolers/Highschoolers can be overwhelming, I have a great time. But I tend to forget about it until it’s too late, so I’ve finally set a weekly alarm on my iPod. Also I watched ‘Over the Garden Wall’ (which is amazing. The style is unique and beautiful, and the storytelling is the same).

OtGW WIP

WIP of some ‘Over the Garden Wall’ fan-art. 😀

Now, the big thing that I’ve been putting off actually happened at youth group. Or right after it. It ended, everyone was slowly walking out, chatting, laughing, praying, doing whatever they were. I walked up to my mom–who was talking with someone else–and two adults came up to me. One of them introduced herself as the new president of the writers’ guild that I submitted ‘The Scribe’ to. Apparently she’s read my story and really liked it! She then went on to say that they were having a youth thing where they usually meet, and asked me to join them.

Guys. I was asked to join them. That’s a pretty big step-upward in my mind! I mean, when I was younger I always wanted to be a super famous author. Now, not so much. I’m content to write for myself and for friends, for the sheer fun of pouring out stories. But being asked to join a group of people who are just as nerdy/geeky and–um–authory as I am, is awesome!

So, wish me luck. 😀

6 responses to “This and That, But Mostly About a Writers’ Guild

Leave a Reply

