Tree-Moles and Cat-Lamps

Sounds like a book title, come to think of it.

Well, this past week was good. I spent all Sunday out and about doing church-y things, and Squishy–my best friend–was with me. So we did a lot of doodling in my sketchbook and laughing about stupid stuff. 🙂 My ideal day.

Last night when I was going to bed, I was all ready for bed and everything. But my brain was still active, I had all of these ideas for a story swirling around like crazy. And if I’ve learned anything about that, it’s not something I should sleep on. Because–well–it makes it hard for me to sleep. And I have a tendency to procrastinate, so if I don’t seize the inspiration of a new idea at THAT moment, I won’t care as much later.

And so I re-opened my laptop and started to type. Tap tap tap went the keys (actually I type rather loudly, so it was more like TAP TAP TAP) and ‘Write moooooooore’ went my brain. Until finally my body forced Brain to quiet, because it was Midnight and I was definitely tired.

Satisfied with the two or so pages I had managed to type down, I went to bed… And dreamed about toads. This is where tree-moles come in.

In my dream, I walked into my room. It was laid out differently for some reason, kind of like how my room looked the last time we lived in this house. Accept unlike anytime that I’ve changed my room around, there were shelves full of tanks–and the tanks were full of toads/frogs. Apparently my mom had caught them all for me, which is… Strange. But I love animals so I just went with it.

There outside of a tank, sitting still as a statue, was a toad. Large, gnarly, he didn’t try to move until I picked him up. Then he squirmed around and kicked his legs like toads do as he tried to escape–and I soon found that there was no room in any of the tanks for him.

So taking him outside, I walked over to a big oak tree that’s in our yard. I’m not sure what I was going to do with him, but I guess it wasn’t letting him go–because when he jumped out of my hands I started scuttling around trying to scoop him back up.

That was about the time my servant popped up–dream logic told me I had one–and he just sort of stood there, not helping. Kind of like a dumb Skyrim companion. Or any NPC from any game, ever.

DSCN0557

Suddenly the toad BURROWS into the tree, and that’s when I realize that the tree is no tree, it’s a rotten dirt tree. I can sift my hands through it like sandy, finely grained up wood-chips. Watching his little shape move around through the wood-chips, another movement catches my eye from the left. So I dig my hand in and pull out a freakish mole. Not a normal mole. something with a pointy nose, sleek, peach-fuzz fur, and other qualities that sound more mole-ish and less cat. It started to writhe in my hands, trying to snap at me with these needly little teeth, and I commenced to freak out.

My servant just stood there. And that was the end of that dream.

BUT, it did inspire me to put tree-moles and dirt-trees into my book, so once I awoke I drew one!

DSCN0559

And as for cat-lamps, that’s just a character I came up with, based on my cat-lamp. He will probably be in my story too. 🙂

wally_castleburry___ref_sheet_by_authorjack-d8g5jdd

4 responses to “Tree-Moles and Cat-Lamps

Leave a Reply

