Long Time No Write

Actually, that’s not true. It’s NaNoWriMo right now, and this is the first year that I’m going for that big 50,000 word goal, so it’s been writewritewritewritewrite everyday.
As for my blog… Not so much.

The past few months have been very eventful. Far too much for one post to hold, unless you enjoy reading things the length of Les Miserables.
So, where to begin… Wow.

We moved to South Asia, and it’s been one hectic ride. There’s been monkeys, and a whoooole new bathroom situation, and for about a week there was a leopard on our roof. I’m going to a language school with my mom, which was also a huge adjustment (for me) because as a homeschooler, waking up early in the morning is a sin. Also, studying is a pain. (Thankfully we have the two latest morning classes now so I don’t have to wake up quite so early anymore.)

On the way to South Asia, we got to stop in London for several hours. We missed the big tourist-y monuments like Big Ben, but we did get to ride the London Underground! (I saw very few people on their phones. Everybody had an actual book, or were just talking to each other. In America, everybody is on their phone 24/7 and it’s very distracting when you’re trying to have an actual conversation with someone. So, it was nice to see so many people just… Not playing Angry Birds. Also, the accents were amazing.)

We have an ayah, which is like a maid, or house-help. They’re very common here, whereas in America you have to be pretty wealthy to hire one. (Also, people here seem more… Kinder, to their helpers? I mean, they still call them ‘ji’ which means ‘ma’me’ or ‘sir’. And they just seem to treat them a lot more like family.)
My nine-year-old brother talks her ear off while she’s cooking. She talks just enough English to get her point across, but constantly flits back and forth between Hindi. Nine-year-old mostly just talks about Anime shows he likes to her. She smiles and laughs when he does, and it’s entertaining to overhear because I don’t think she understands him… At all.

But our ayah (I’ll spare her name) is very nice, and an excellent cook. She worked at a nice restaurant for quite awhile, so not only can she make amazing South Asian food, but lots of Western food. She tries to prove this to us, I think, because occasionally she asks for specific things on the grocery list, so she can make pizza. Or burritos. (No way am I complaining!)

Yesterday we went to her house for a Diwali dinner! Her house is one room, plus a tiny kitchen, behind a bunch of stores. She lives there with her husband (all kids and grandkids gone), and she was very happy to have company. We looked at a couple photo albums of her daughters weddings (which were more colorful than American weddings by far) and enjoyed very nice, Diwali-seasonal food! (Fun fact: her husband paints local scenery.)

Going back to several weeks ago–I was bitten by a dog. (This jumps all over the place, I’m trying to cram around four months of living into one post… Mostly for laziness reasons.) To reach our house, we have to take a trail. There’s more than one way to reach the house, but it’s all by trail one way or another (literally).

Everyday my mom and I had been walking past this mama dog with her puppies on the way to and from school. She lived underneath somebody’s house, and never bothered us. Ever. We would stop, see how the puppies were doing (never leaving the trail or touching any of the puppies/Mama Dog), and proceed whichever way we were going.

Then one day while walking home, Mama dog came tearing around a blind corner and bit me on the knee. No growling, barking, snarling—no warning whatsoever. After biting me, she backed away and played off the typical crazy-angry-dog display. Head down, teeth looking really scary, you know.

Well, I was surprised so at first I didn’t move. Then my mom yelled something, and we both ran back up the steps, and headed down a much steeper part of the trail that was out of the dog’s way.

My dad and his friend (who was apparently at our house at the time) were waiting at the bottom, and our ayah was waiting in the yard. (I put this detail in because for some reason it was really weird to have people worrying about the dog bite. I mean, it was worth worrying about. But I was shocked, and my knee hurt, and for some reason one of the most vivid details I remember is everybody looking concerned.)

My dad took me to the hospital (which is just down from our house. We live on a mountain, so there is no ‘a few blocks over’), and they cleaned the bite/put a bandage on it. To be honest, I was just kind of normal the whole time. I mean, shaky. But it didn’t feel like anything bad had happened.
Day one was a like like: “Nah man, I’m okay.”

Then I got a rabies shot. The first in a series of five. And the next day, I… Did not have rabies. Thank you, God. But I kept crying, and laughing, and laugh-crying, and crying. And sobbing. And snotting. And my knee hurt. And I couldn’t move my leg to even sit down or lay down, because the slightest movement made the knee burn like crazy.
Day two was a lot like: “I’M CRYING AND I DON’T KNOW WHY AND I’M LAUGHING AT EVERYTHING BUT IT MAKES ME CRY MORE AND ALL I WANT IS TO SIT DOWN BUT ONCE I DO THAT I’LL EVENTUALLY HAVE TO GET BACK UP AND THAT’LL HURT TOO AND ALL I WANT IS TEA AND I’M CRYING AGAIN AND I’M CRYING DURING CLASS AND I LOVE BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER AND I’M CRYING AGAIN AND NOW I’M DRAWING BUT I’M STILL CRYING AND MY MOM MADE A JOKE SO NOW I FEEL SAD AND I’M MAKING LAUGHING NOISES BUT I’M CRYING—”

More or less.

Onto more nicer things… Copic markers.

A very, very nice person bought me very, very expensive markers and mailed them to me. Along with very, very nice paper for said very, very nice markers. (Very nice.) And candy corn, because Halloween was coming up and they don’t sell the American seasonal candies here. And rat-traps, because we (had) a rat problem.

For those who don’t know what Copic markers are, they’re the modern day artist-nerd’s dream come true. I about cried when I got the package, and almost didn’t use them because I was/am afraid of wasting the precious ink. (Although they are refillable, I’m not sure where I can refill them…)

Not only are they refillable, but they blend together like the smoothest paint you’ve ever seen, have a chisel tip on one end and a brush tip on the other, can shade with one color alone if applied lightly, and just in general are beautiful.

Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde

Trevor, Sunstreak2000 (on deviantART)’s character.

A Langur (local type of monkey), drawn for my grandpa.

Thank you, very, very kind person.

There’s plenty more to be said, but I think I’ll save those for future blog posts.

-Jack

4 responses to “Long Time No Write

Leave a Reply

